KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 28 March 2024.

PRESENT: Mr G Cooke (Chairman), Mr B J Sweetland (Vice-Chairman). Mr N Baker, Mr P V Barrington-King, Mr P Bartlett, Mr D Beaney, Mrs C Bell, Mrs R Binks. Mr T Bond, Mr A Brady, Mr D L Brazier, Mr S R Campkin, Sir Paul Carter, CBE, Miss S J Carey, Mrs S Chandler, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I S Chittenden, Mrs P T Cole, Mr P Cole, Ms K Constantine, Mr P C Cooper, Mr D Crow-Brown. Mr M C Dance, Mrs T Dean, MBE, Mr M Dendor, Mr R W Gough, Ms K Grehan, Ms S Hamilton, Peter Harman, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mr M A J Hood, Mr A J Hook, Mrs S Hudson, Mr D Jeffrey, Mr A Kennedy, Mr J A Kite, MBE, Rich Lehmann, Mr B H Lewis, Mr R C Love, OBE, Mr S C Manion, Mr R A Marsh, Mrs M McArthur, Mr J P McInroy, Ms J Meade, Mr D Murphy, Mr J M Ozog, Mrs L Parfitt-Reid, Mr C Passmore, Mr H Rayner, Mr O Richardson, Mr A M Ridgers, Mr D Robey, Mr D Ross, Mr C Simkins, Mr M J Sole, Mr P Stepto, Mr R G Streatfeild, MBE, Mr R J Thomas, Mr D Watkins, Mr S Webb, Dr L Sullivan. Mr M Whiting, Mr J Wright and Ms L Wright

IN VIRTUAL ATTENDANCE: Mr M Baldock

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr J Cook (Democratic Services Manager) and Mr B Watts (General Counsel)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

203. Apologies for Absence (Item 1)

The Democratic Services Manager reported apologies from Mr Booth, Mr Broadley, Mrs Bruneau, Mr Cannon, Mrs Game, Ms Hawkins, Mr Hills, Mr Meade, Mr Oakford, Mrs Prendergast, Mr Sandhu, and Mr Shonk.

The Democratic Services Manager said Mr Baldock had sent formal apologies but was in attendance virtually.

Mr Jeffrey reported apologies from Mr Collor.

204. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

205. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

(Item 3)

- (1) The Chairman offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to Dr Eddy and Mr and Mrs Northey.
- (2) The Chairman said that Mrs Valerie Dagger, Dr Mike Eddy, Mr Graham Gibbens and Mr Michael Northey had been regarded by Group Leaders as having given eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.
- (3) The Chairman proposed and the Vice-Chairman seconded the motion that the nomination of Mrs Valerie Dagger, Dr Mike Eddy, Mr Graham Gibbens and Mr Michael Northey for Honorary Aldermen be approved.
- (4) The Chairman invited Members to speak to pay tribute to the nominees.
- (5) RESOLVED unanimously that Mrs Valerie Dagger, Dr Mike Eddy, Mr Graham Gibbens and Mr Michael Northey, distinguished former Members of Kent County Council, be awarded the status of Honorary Aldermen.
- (6) The Chairman then presented Dr Eddy and Mr Northey with their Honorary Aldermen badges and scrolls.
- (7) Dr Eddy and Mr Northey responded in their capacity as newly appointed Honorary Aldermen and expressed their thanks for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council.